Tags

, , ,

I am not a romance girl. No I am not. But this book, well it’s different. And I can’t stop thinking about it. If you’re looking for a fresh, YA read, than I recommend Stolen whole-heartedly. It was terrifying and captivating all at the same time.

Lucy Christopher did a fantastic job in writing Stolen. The storyline was fascinating and it’s characters (although there are only two..) are well-rounded. This may be one of my favourite books that I’ve read so far. Now, this book isn’t for everyone. It’s an unconventional and twisted love story.

stolen

[spoilers]

    Stolen by Lucy Christopher is written as a letter from the captive Gemma to the captor Ty. We discover Gemma’s conflicting emotions and true feelings towards Ty. Gemma is a 16 year old girl with work addict parents and a feeling of disbelonging. She is kidnapped from an airport in Bangkok, drugged and taken to a desert in Western Australia. Ty, her kidnapper is a handsome and beautiful twenty-something male with a dark past. He has been watching Gemma, stalking, if you will, for six years. He has taken his chance to take her and keep her close with him in the middle-of-nowhere-desert. He has built a house, hoarded food, and prepared for Gemma’s new life with him. At first, Gemma detests him, and tries to run away multiple times, only to be lost and ‘rescued’ by Ty. Just as Gemma has started to fall for Ty, she is bitten by a poisonous snake and taken to a hospital. He turns himself in, and Gemma is “safe”. She deals with the aftermath with confusion and a longing for Ty as she writes this letter from beginning to end.

I had seen reviews about Stolen before I actually read it. The majority of them said something along the lines of “I felt bad for Ty”. My first thought was “No, that’s crazy. You can’t feel sympathy for a psychotic kidnapper/stalker.” But in the end, I felt sympathy for him. I really did.

I have so many different emotions about this book. Ty did KIDNAP Gemma. That should never be considered okay. But as he slowly gained Gemma’s trust, I started to trust him more and more. I am confused and conflicted.

Overall, I do give this book 5 stars. I really enjoyed it from beginning to end. I could strangely relate to Gemma and Ty, although I have never been kidnapped…or kidnapped anyone. I recommend Stolen by Lucy Christopher, although I don’t kidnapping is a very serious matter and should NEVER be taken as a joke.

 

 

